Asparagus life…

One of the things that has to be done is processing food for Rick to eat. It must have a good consistency, no lumps or little things that can cause him to choke. He loves cream of asparagus soup. So do I.  I have tried making it from scratch but can’t always find it fresh in the store. So I use canned asparagus. I open the can and pour it into a large glass measuring cup. Then I wash my hands and fish around with my fingers in the asparagus until all the little woody pieces I can’t squish, that will not process, are removed. Today’s batch was about a 1/4 cup of hard as a rock pieces.  Then I take a stick blender to it. After that there are the stringy things. I clean all the ‘string’ pieces off the blender, wash the blender again and then I can make soup.

Today as I was making the soup…my mind turned to spiritual thoughts on ‘life is like asparagus soup’.  There are lots of hard, difficult, woody, tough things that come along in life and we must pick our away around them. Even then there are the stringy things left that aren’t as visible but also need to be sorted out and dispensed. We can’t do it on our own. We need those who recognize the hard stuff and let them help. God sends us our family in Christ to work out the tough and difficult with prayer and support of all kinds. I know, we have been recipients. But then there are the little pieces of life with hidden strings that can hang us up. Only the Lord Jesus can process them out, much like the blender. Sometimes whipping the daylights out of us to find them, so they don’t choke us.

I am grateful for asparagus soup teaching me another small lesson about the great love of the Lord which never ceases.

Lamentations 3:22 The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases; his mercies never come to an end; 23 they are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Asparagus life…

  1. Ed Headington says:

    God bless you for seeing God in the teeny tiny things of life. – Ed

Leave a Reply

