“Grab Bars”…

It’s 4am and this better be worth it, I have a full day today…no time for a nap.

I had to get up in the night to visit the ‘little’ room, pretty much as most people do and sleep was still a moment away, but as I went about my business and headed back to bed, thankfulness fell into place. Two years ago when we were able to move back into our home after the ‘event’ (Rick’s stroke), the house was still in progress. The kitchen wasn’t done and the main bathroom was 80%. The hall bathroom was done, but had no door. It’s a typical 5’ x 8’, 3 piece bath so Rick was able to get in but there was nothing but the wheelchair, sink counter and me to help him. There was a small ‘grab bar’ to help get in and out of the tub, but how to get off the toilet was a major issue. We had been in the house about an hour before we realized that was going to be a serious problem. Rick had not enough strength and I was running low on lift power. The man who was working on the master bathroom shower was there and I asked him if he could move the ‘grab bar’ to a stud that would be safe to use. The first stud he could find was directly in front of the toilet. Rick gave it a test run almost immediately, and from that moment to this, he was on his own. Now in the night, it is my lifesaver, I hardly have to open my eyes. He has his own bathroom with ‘grab bars’ and I have a little security in mine.

I began to think of all the ‘grab bars’ in life, the things that help along the way. Then I began to see the people along our path, then the people who have no ‘grab bars’. Should I begin to make a list of the things that I grasp for strength, balance and safety? The list will start to get out of hand quickly, but I would like to make a start…my heritage of faith instilled from childhood has to be right up there. My grandmother and my parents made sure we knew and had opportunity to make Jesus, Lord of our lives. They took us to church, taught us how to behave, disciplined us and lived lives that showed us how to live.

A personal relationship with Jesus; God’s Word, the scriptures, memorized from a young age, prayer time, and consistent fellowship with others of faith make really good ‘go to’ grab bars. ‘Grab bars’ are anchored-in, solid. Grab bars are in the right place at the right time for the current need and they support you without fail. A song and several scriptures come to mind…those ‘grab bars’ are everywhere for me. I pray that you find them helpful along your way.

In times like these you need a Savior. In times like these you need an anchor;
Be very sure, be very sure, Your anchor holds and grips the Solid Rock!
This Rock is Jesus, Yes, He’s the One; This Rock is Jesus, the only One!
Be very sure, be very sure, Your anchor holds and grips the Solid Rock

Deuteronomy 31:8, The LORD himself goes before you and will be with you; He will never leave you nor forsake you. “Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged.”

Hebrews 13:5 Keep your lives free from the love of money and be content with what you have, because God has said, “Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

