3 o’clock in the morning…

Frank Sinatra sings to the bartender about one for his baby and one more for the road. “It’s quarter to three, there’s no one in the place except you and me.”  I’m not drinking, but I am praying in the night. What do I need to hear from You Lord, and what do You need to hear from me. While I am wide awake in the night and it’s now quarter to four, what is it You are speaking to me. What can we talk about in this quiet place.

Psalm  16:The lines have fallen to me in pleasant places; Indeed, my heritage is beautiful to me. I will bless the LORD who has counseled me; Indeed, my mind instructs me in the night. I have set the LORD continually before me; Because He is at my right hand, I will not be shaken.…

So very grateful again as I muse, for the tremendous value there is in a heritage of faith. When days are trying, tiring and seem as though there is no relief, THE LORD does counsel in the night. He is there, waking and walking, testing and trying, soothing and comforting through every moment. He is not silent. Knowing scripture (the Word of God) in tough times is of inestimable value. So thankful that it’s stuck in my head from a child…so very important.

Prayer is a conversation with God. A conversation is a two-way street. If I’m just talking and not listening, it’s just so much…”I want what I want” and nothing more. But, if I listen and hear what is on God’s mind and heart, and take it into my spirit and my behavior, then we’re conversing. My life gets on His page, following His will, which pays big dividends in the end. There is peace in the midst of the storm, joy in the midst of sorrow, and a real tangible knowing of His great love for me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 3 o’clock in the morning…

  1. Jay Geary says:

    Beautiful and moving. Glad you’re up with the Lord at that hour watching over us!

Leave a Reply

