How do I spell relief?

“In short”, the small gifts along the way.

Often in our life circumstances we feel the tiredness of tedium, the pressure of what must be done without slacking. A new mom feels this about a week in, but the joy of the child brings it into perspective. There are other things in life that bring tedium and can steal our joy if we let it.

I like to garden, write, cook, sing, have company, go shopping, get a pedicure, “In short” I love life. But more than ‘life’ I love the Lord, my husband, extended family and friends. This morning I woke singing, ‘Holy God we praise thy name, Lord of all we bow before thee.’ What a wonderful start to the day…’everlasting is thy name, infinite thy vast domain, holy, holy, holy Lord!’

Then I had to take the garbage out before the city trucks arrived. (I do wish ‘wordpress’ had emoticons.) Shortly I will start a load of laundry and then fix breakfast (having my coffee now). We never know what a day will bring, but on Thursday morning we have prayer here for an hour and we will be blessed with God’s presence in a special way, along with several folk who also love Jesus. In our darkest hours, when we are most tired and weary, God sends ‘relief’ when we turn to Him. Sometimes we turn in quiet desperation, sometimes as a tired edgy child, but He is waiting, standing near, present in that moment, giving relief and rest. I have found it so!

Matthew 28:28 Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. 29 Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30 For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

