After the News…

I don’t begin my day with the news of the world. I begin with the normal morning stuff, brush my teeth, bathroom, coffee and then turn on worship music while I sit quietly as the sun rises. The sun will rise as long as there is time. Solomon said it best, “There is nothing new under the sun.” (Ecclesiastes 1:9)  I take comfort in the scripture. “When you hear of wars and rumors of wars, do not be alarmed. These things must happen, but the end is still to come.” (Mark 13:7)

I listen to about 15 minutes or read the headlines for the day. Breaking news comes ’round eventually on the media rumor conveyor belt. It gives me pause to pray for the condition of our planet and it’s peoples. Things are not new and Malcolm Muggeridge has a famous quote that really makes it clear that history repeats itself. “All new news is old news happening to new people”.

The Bible has been the ‘real news’ since the beginning of time as we know it. Nothing in the human condition has changed since Eve and Adam decided they wanted to be ‘like gods’. When God steps into our situation or circumstances, we find peace, rest and an inkling of what He really has for His children.  I don’t want to clutter my mind and heart with passing ‘old news’ that can crush me with it’s weight of sadness and anger. Enough is enough…now we pray…Our Father in heaven, holy is Your name. Your kingdom come and Your will be done on here on earth as it is in heaven. Give us provision for our day today and may we forgive others so that we also can be forgiven. Help us to not worry or fret.  

Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done. 7  Then you will experience God’s peace, which exceeds anything we can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus.(Philippians 4:6)

We need to know what’s going on in our world, but pray, don’t become discouraged. There is nothing too hard for God. “Behold, I am the LORD, the God of all flesh; is anything too difficult for Me?” (Jeremiah 32:27)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to After the News…

  1. Ed Headington says:

    Melanie, thanks for reminding me of something I already knew, but something that I need to continually remember!! – Ed

Leave a Reply

