Walking it out…

Everyday we must walk out our faith with perseverance. We have an acquaintance who has finally, after 3 years in a court battle, been exonerated. We have other friends who have been walking out their faith in other avenues, the health, finances, family issues for a very long time. We as believers have the responsibility to show our faith steady in the issues of life and to rejoice whether we appear to win or lose, with grace.

Daily battles with recovery keep our focus on Jesus who is our only source. He sends friends and family and resources to continue ‘walking’. Sometimes we drag ourselves to the next step and sometimes we step a little more lively. I am amazed at the devotionals that pop up at God’s design. Today we tried to read the Oswald Chambers 4 times, but Rick kept choking on his breakfast and then his Tuesday morning visitor came. So I had to read it by myself in the office. “Don’t Plan without God!” I spend an inordinate amount of time researching what we might need to help Rick progress in getting well. I think, ‘if I do this or that, it might help!’ Jesus is our source and He does give us wisdom and guidance,  but all my planning and finagling isn’t going to change our situation. I can do nothing to ‘fix it’. Yesterday at lunch Rick took my hand and looked me straight in the eye. “You need to know that, ‘I know’ you have done everything you could and you have taken great care of me in love. Always remember that.” But, I am always thinking, ‘what more can I do?’ In all our plans we must consider that God is with us and interested and working all things according to His plan. We just have to pay attention, listen and follow even in the smallest matters of our day.

Jesus said, “Let not your heart be troubled…” (John 14:1). God will not keep your heart from being troubled. It is a command— “Let not….” To do it, continually pick yourself up, even if you fall a hundred and one times a day, until you get into the habit of putting God first and planning with Him in mind.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

