I wonder as I wander…

I wonder as I wander out under the sky
How Jesus the Savior did come for to die
For poor on’ry people like you and like I;
I wonder as I wander out under the sky

When Mary birthed Jesus ’twas in a cow’s stall
With wise men and farmers and shepherds and all
But high from God’s heaven, a star’s light did fall
And the promise of ages it then did recall.

If Jesus had wanted for any wee thing
A star in the sky or a bird on the wing
Or all of God’s Angels in heaven to sing
He surely could have it, ’cause he was the King

I wonder as I wander out under the sky
How Jesus the Savior did come for to die
For poor on’ry people like you and like I;
I wonder as I wander out under the sky

I find myself awake in the night ‘wondering’ about many things. Songs come to me in the night.  Wondering what God has in mind. Realizing we may never know, but we will be faithful. This Christmas song came as I said to myself, “I’m wondering!” Christmas is about half way here for those of us who count the days to ‘the most wonderful time of the year’. My brother Brucie posts occasionally the ‘countdown’ on Facebook, which always makes me smile. Christmas and Easter are the most meaningful times of the calendar year for myself and believers the world around. God’s plan, Jesus being born in a stable and dying on a cross are the complete circle of our redemption. Birth and death are our circle of life. What we do between that times determines our eternity. I know there are people who don’t believe in God, but they do believe in death and they were born. We are an ‘on’ry’ sort of creation. We reason without knowledge often. We believe we are the center of the universe. Check out a newborn, they really are, at least until the parents catch on to them and begin to teach them otherwise. You know like, “share, mind your manners and no you can’t run in the middle of the street or touch a hot stove”.

God’s teaches us through His Word, there is no need to ‘wonder’. It’s pretty plain. Yes there are mysteries, but the 10 commandments given in the Old Testament and the 3 that Jesus gives His disciples before returning to the Father are very clear. They are what not to do and what to do. The ‘Ten’ according to Jeremiah 31:33, Hebrews 8:10 and 10:16, and Isaiah 59:21, are actually written in our hearts. Romans tells us in chapter 1:19 For what can be known about God is plain to them, because God has shown it to them. 20 For his invisible attributes, namely, his eternal power and divine nature, have been clearly perceived, ever since the creation of the world, in the things that have been made. So they are without excuse.

Results tonight, ‘No more wondering…’ Following Jesus one step at a time. Soon enough the wandering will be over.

Check out “13 Commandments” by Rick Hoover at Lulu or Smashwords.com.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

