Getting gas…

Who would consider putting ‘gas’ in the car a pleasure? Me, right now. I have complained about it in the past. Even had a friend do it for me a couple of times since Rick’s stroke. But yesterday June 10, I was so happy to do it myself. The last time I put gas in the car was May 5.  The reason it has become a pleasure, comes from my garden. I flicked a little bug off my leg with my thumb nail some time back and it turns out it was a ‘tick’ that gave me Lyme disease. I was sweating, didn’t see what it was and there are so many bugs in the world. The medication made me sensitive to the sun and I had to become ‘lady dracula’, going out only before sun up and after sun down. It also made me feel real bad the first 2 weeks, by the third I was starting to pick up. Friends and family have continued to come to our aid again and again, picking up groceries, bottled water and bringing us a couple meals a week…Jesus has the best friends and sends them to us.

We have not been able to get out to church for 3 weeks now, 4 weeks counting today. I don’t like that. It’s the ‘gas’ in my life. I need it to run on. We do have devotions together daily and once a week we have a ‘prayer’ service here in our home. It’s a small group as little as 3 and as many as 9 or 10. So we do have church, because we are the church. All Saints’, our parish church, brings us communion, so we stay communed. It’s just not the same as being there.

Our vehicle runs on gas…what do you and I need to continuing running the race set before us? We need to worship, be in fellowship, continue daily in the Word…spiritual GAS!

Hebrews 12:1 Therefore we also, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us lay aside every weight, and the sin which so easily ensnares us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us, 2 looking unto Jesus, the author and finisher of our faith, who for the joy that was set before Him endured the cross, despising the shame, and has sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Getting gas…

  1. Ed Headington says:

    No doubt about it, Melanie, “gas” of any kind is good!

Leave a Reply

