Wrong direction…

Ever wake up to the fact, you might just be going in the wrong direction? Startled at the thought it could happen when you were so sure? Tonight I was in bed trying to sleep but the air-conditioning just kept running and I was nearly freezing. Rick was snoring away (comforting for me-not like a train) and I couldn’t get warm under the covers so I was snuggling as close as I could get away with without waking him. The A/C just wouldn’t shut off. Finally I got up to check on it. It was 70 and still running.  I turned the unit off and went back to bed. Not a minute later I realized I had been pushing the unit regulator in the wrong direction. We usually have it just under 80 during the day and just above 80 at night. It was nearly on 70.

My desire was to make it comfortable to sleep, not turn the house into a freezer. Instead I was pushing the issue the wrong direction. How often do we ‘push’ ahead in the wrong direction out of our own desire for good and find ourselves ‘pushing’ without praying, listening and obeying? There is a fine line between what seems to be good and what is true and right and good. Our vision can be inhibited by many things. Tonight that thermostat was not being read properly by me.  I had been working it wrong.  We’ve lived in this house 15 years, I know how to run the A/C, yet I did it wrong.

I wrote 3 books about listening and yet I often don’t listen. I just ‘push’ ahead in whatever direction seems right. I can excuse myself and often do, “I’m tired”, “I’m too busy”, “Don’t have the time to listen, right now”….that’s not how my walk of faith should be. I realize that the consequences of turning the A/C in the wrong direction is not a serious problem, it’s now corrected and I am wide awake.  BUT, ‘pushing’ in the wrong direction in my spiritual life can cause serious consequences.  I don’t want to become disoriented to the will of the Lord, by insisting on my own way and pushing the limits. It reminds me of small children, ‘pushing’ to see how close they can get to the forbidden. The parent sees or doesn’t, and then has to rescue when they cry for help. Sometimes they touch the stove and all the parent can do is nurse the wound.

God is a good Father. Some people don’t know that. He is fair and just and loving. ‘Pushing’ my own will, may mean I will have to suffer the consequences. I know Him whom my soul loves and want to choose what is right in His sight, not mine. I do not want to ‘push’ the wrong direction in any matter of this life He has given. Lord keep me ‘pushing’ on in Your will every waking moment, because I love You and I am ‘listening’.

Proverbs 16:25 There is a way that seems right to a man, but its end is the way to death. Song of Solomon 3:1 On my bed by night I sought him whom my soul loves; I sought him…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Wrong direction…

  1. Jennifer says:

    Amen.

  2. Margaret says:

    Thank you for this post…I’m sure going through it. I’ve been spending a lot of time praying and reading, reading and praying, in a feeble, uncertain attempt to remain open to His will and the direction I should go. Patience is definitely not my strong point. Blessings to you both.

  3. Ed Headington says:

    And here I thought I was the only one who too often pushes in the wrong direction!! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

