It’s A Mystery!

Rick has been downloading ‘mystery’ programs for us to watch in the odd hours. It’s an old series from Hallmark called the ‘Mystery Woman’. I love a good mystery and remember vividly reading them voraciously since childhood. Our parents were big on reading and we had books. Often I was unable to nail the villain myself, but when the book ended I would realize that all the clues were there. I had failed to put them together properly and chased a ‘red herring’ in my mind, thus failing to solve it.  Agatha Christie, George MacDonald, Agnes Sanford, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, and even C.S. Lewis could surprise me with the final summation. It is still a mystery to me how I didn’t always catch on until the last chapter or page. Sometimes the mystery was grandly satisfying and at other times a real “WHAT?”!

Life is like that. Most days I mark time because I really don’t have a clue what God is up to. There are so many details to the day, week, months, and marking that time is essential. No un-formatted time, or very little. Retirement was going to be ‘free’ time to read and write and go to the beach and maybe even my 50th high school reunion. I like people and fellowship. I love a good adventure, if there is time to savor it. Regimented time was not what I had in mind. There was regular time to write and wander before retirement but I did not mark it. It came as a ‘break’ in a cycle. There does not seem to be a ‘break’ in this cycle, or maybe I just haven’t found it yet. It’s a mystery. We have just as many hours in a day, but they seem to elude me just like the villain in the books. Am I following a ‘red herring’ or is there really something to this season, I don’t see yet. That would be my guess. I haven’t come to the end of the chapter yet and thankfully not the end of the book.

1 Corinthians 2 says, “a mystery that has been hidden”.  Paul is writing to the church at Corinth and the whole chapter is revealing the ‘mystery’ of the life of people who have committed their life to Christ. “What no eye has seen, what no ear has heard, and what no human mind has conceived”—the things God has prepared for those who love him—these are the things God has revealed to us by his Spirit.”

As I mark the hours of the days, the days of the weeks, the weeks of the months…God has a plan I can’t figure out. I still very much love a good mystery, even when ‘marking time’ to the conclusion. His promises are true. Throughout my life I have proved these mysteries true. This one’s going to be a ‘humdinger’!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

