65 and counting

Yes 65! Today, a missionary friend who is on facebook with me, was driving from one side of Florida to another and as she passed Lakeland on I-4 she prayed for us. It brought to mind again that Daniel who prayed 7 times a day needed an answer to a prayer and it took 21 days. It took so long because Satan’s minion had held up the answer in a battle with the angel sent to give the answer.

How often do we pray? How consistent are our prayers? Do we actually do more than call a name before the Lord? I have to ask myself these questions daily. Our prayer list has more than 65 names on it right now. If someone passes away or gets healed our list shortens, but it doesn’t happen often. Some have been suffering for years. What is the battle being fought in the heavenlies preventing their answer? I’m afraid I have more questions than answers for you today. They are questions I ask myself. Each day I see God’s hand at work in our life and the lives of others. I know God is paying attention, we are in the palm of His merciful and kind hand. He is not asleep and the answer is on the way.

Our prayer list includes 65+ of those who suffer everything from lyme disease, cancer of all kinds, embolisms, aneurysms, depression, unknown and unidentified malaise, botched surgeries, crones, blindness creeping in, heart disease, autism from mild to severe, heart trouble, dementia, epilepsy, loneliness, Multiple Sclerosis, Muscular Dystrophy, pancreatic virus, broken bones, broken marriages, death of a spouse, rotor cuff repair, knee replacements, hip replacements, hernia (new prayer request this very day), thyroid disorders, care giver syndrome (alias- really tired)…old age, financial ruin, and that is just the list of ailments and needs and does not including the state of our nation, the world and the peace of Israel.

Whom in heaven or earth but thee?

Psalm 73:23 Yet I am always with you; you hold me by my right hand.
24 You guide me with your counsel, and afterward you will take me into glory.
25 Whom have I in heaven but you? And earth has nothing I desire besides you.
26 My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart
    and my portion forever. 27 Those who are far from you will perish;
    you destroy all who are unfaithful to you. 28 But as for me, it is good to be near God.
    I have made the Sovereign Lord my refuge; I will tell of all your deeds.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 65 and counting

  1. Ed Headington says:

    Amen, Melanie!! HAve to say though, we do WAY more than just mention your name and Rick’s when we pray for you!!!! Love, E&K

Leave a Reply

