Can’t write tonight…tired!

The laundry is done and put away, but Rick kept coughing, so sleep went by the wayside. I got him up and he had some ‘Sambucus’ (not the alcoholic drink). It is black currant juice concentrate, a natural remedy for coughs. He needs water with it, so he got up and is now watching TV. I also gave him some Nasacort to try to stop the sinus from running him ragged.

A friend took me to lunch today and when she asked where I wanted to go, I said Golden Corral. It’s the local ‘pig trough’. Having to cook or fix for just myself becomes crazy. I go to the store and can’t find anything I want to eat that isn’t in a large package. So I fore go. If I go out to eat, a meal will cost anywhere from $5 or $6 to sometimes $15 for a sit down dinner. It was $8 and I was able to get a little bit of all the things I don’t, can’t, won’t fix for me. Brussel sprouts, turnip greens, cooked cabbage, green beans (these I cook for me from my garden), sweet potato, carrot & raisin salad, macaroni salad, tuna salad, meatloaf, fish and a piece of carrot cake. A tablespoon of each covered 2 plates. I was satisfied and didn’t finish it all, but tonight I am paying for all those veges at once.   .

I had a large real lemonade from Chick-fil-A for supper so I could get a glass of ice for Rick. Their ice is small and not hard but not crushed either. It works perfectly for him to chew a piece and swallow….so I’m making at least 3 trips a week to Chick-fil-A just for ice. Might as well have supper. All this excess information to come to the point. There are an enormous number of folks out there who have to eat by themselves, young and old alike. It is difficult to make something for one person or even just two. I guess we’ll just have to have more company.

Our visitors today were retired some years back. The lady has ‘Myasthenia gravis‘ (SP). It is akin to muscular dystrophy and Lou Gherigs disease. She has over the past 20 years gone from a vibrate active lady to not being able to get out of a chair without help and in the past 3 weeks is now on a PERMANENT feeding tube as she can no long swallow anything but her own saliva by mouth. She aspirated and got pneumonia, spent a couple weeks in the hospital and had several swallow tests before the decision was made to put in a permanent feeding tube. She and her husband ate out often, as cooking for 2 was a lot of work and they always ended up throwing food away or giving it away. Before they left, I gave them 2 servings of a breakfast casserole I had made for myself that was going to mold before I ever got to it. I had been sharing it with someone else who decided it was too much food for them also. I can’t make less of it.

WE ARE NEVER ALONE in our struggles. Someone is having the same or similar struggle in life. Our source must be in the LORD! We would be lost and destroyed with out His guidance, protection and direction. I know several friends who are ‘caregivers’. I pray hard for them, because I know how tired I am. A couple of them are older than myself and some are younger, but it’s a never ending over extending job…we cannot do it in our own strength. We need the wings of eagles.

ISAIAH 40:31 “…but those who hope in the LORD will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.”
All the answers to this life are in God’s Word and no matter where I turn, He is there with a Word for me….somewhere in the back of my mind and in my spirit, it comes and lifts me on high. Now I’m going to bed.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

