What did you hear?

Lying in bed tonight with my body screaming at me for soreness, I wondered what am I hearing in this circumstance. Often when Rick and I do devotions together or in my private times with the Lord, I hear something that I contemplate all day long, ‘listening’ for what God might be saying in whatever is happening around me, or in my heart or my actual physical being. The Henry Blackaby post for today, was the familiar scripture about the treasure we have in this earthen vessel, and it has been played out in my mind for many reasons. But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellence of the power may be of God and not of us. 2 Corinthians 4:7

“The CONTENTS of the earthen vessels, not the containers themselves, are of great value. The jars become chipped and broken and deteriorate over time, but nobody thinks of the jar—they are interested in its contents. Paul noted that our great possession is that which God has placed within us. When we focus on the frail, imperfect, and deteriorating vessel, we find that nothing that comes from our flesh is worthy of praise. Our bodies are aging and losing strength (2 Cor. 4:16). Only as we allow God to fill us and renew our inner self will people see a treasure of immeasurable worth.”

I had a massage today and probably won’t do it again. I can get this kind of pain from just working my regularly scheduled program these days. Since not getting any younger and picking up extra care giving responsibilities, tired is a good reason to go to bed with the chickens and the Lord always refreshes me with rest. Singing songs of praise and worship lift my spirit. Reading the Bible and devotional material stimulate my thoughts on faith and relationship with Jesus and others. SO, what’s going on inside this vessel is much more important and of eternal value. Jesus looks on the heart, the world on what they can see with their physical eyes. Rev. Blackaby goes on to finish his prod to us as Christians….. “Don’t focus on outward appearances and physical strength, for these deteriorate. Rather, allow the Holy Spirit to convince you of the infinite treasure that is within you because of God’s presence.”

This is a daily walk and daily we need to invest in the contents of the vessel. God does expect us to take care of the ‘temple’ of the Holy Spirit, which is our body, (1 Corinthians 6:19) but it will still give out on us eventually. The inner spirit of a person is eternal, feed it, care for it, let God direct and guide, be ‘Listening For His Voice’.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

