In the night seasons…

Psalm 16:5 Lord, you alone are my portion and my cup; You make my lot secure. 6 The boundary lines have fallen for me in pleasant places; surely I have a delightful inheritance. 7 I will praise the Lord, who counsels me; even at night my heart instructs me. 8 I keep my eyes always on the Lord. With him at my right hand, I will not be shaken. 9 Therefore my heart is glad and my tongue rejoices; my body also will rest secure, 10 because you will not abandon me to the realm of the dead, nor will you let your faithful one see decay. 11 You make known to me the path of life; You will fill me with joy in your presence, with eternal pleasures at your right hand.

Instead of sleeping between 4:30 am and 5:30, I have been lying awake thinking and praying and fighting off the negative thoughts that come in the ‘night seasons’. Not just the actual time on the clock ‘night seasons’, but what St. John of the Cross calls “The Dark Night of the Soul”. Life is not always lived in the daylight. The everyday occurrences come to battle in the sleepless nights. The questions arise; the hoary head of the devil shows itself in our thought life, the what if’s become gigantic. Having trusted Jesus as my Savior when I was a small child, I have made an effort to live my life as close as I could to the training and teaching received. It doesn’t stop the influence of the world and the minions of the devil from rousting my thought life in the ‘dark night seasons’.  Note that the ‘seasons’ is plural. This is not a one time battle. It is tiring, aggravating and necessary for spiritual growth, which tires me and aggravates me even more. Ephesians 6 tells us that we need to put on our armor. It’s difficult to sleep in armor, so I must get up and repair to the Word of God for solace and for strength.

Although we all have difficult challenges come our way, God is still on the throne and still shepherding us. He sees, He cares and He keeps us in the ‘night seasons’ of illness, sleeplessness, untoward circumstances. As I finish my thoughts here, I recognize that before my husband’s stoke, this is the time of the night when I best heard the voice of the Lord and did most of my writing, thinking and praying.  Hmmm, maybe this ‘night season’ isn’t such a ‘dark night’ after all.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

