Discontented?

In my devotional “Listening for His Voice” on January 29, I talk about being discontent and how that attitude belies a trust in God for His provision. He has met all my needs for nearly 67 years. Through many difficult circumstances, He has given me peace and provision abundantly for all the years I have known Him as Savior and Lord. He is definitely a friend who sticks closer than a brother.

My dear husband suffered a major stroke October 31, 2014. He immediately could not swallow. Today 4 months later, he can swallow occasionally. His recovery is of course much slower than we would like, but GOD has been faithful in everything. We have wanted for nothing, we have been prayed for by thousands (NOT KIDDING OR EXAGGERATING). Still each day is a struggle to be encouraged. He tires easily and still has serious equilibrium problems, but he is well. I’m tired most of the time and sleep like a dead person when I do hit the pillow, BUT I have this deep, deep peace inside, like I am being held in a cocoon. If I were an infant, it could be called swaddling clothes. Swaddling clothes keep a small child from flailing and secures them so they can be at peace. The comfort of the Holy Spirit of God is holding me together in a way that I never could have imagined or understood without the circumstances we are going through right now.  Someday I will be able to say to another person, ‘I know’ He is with you, rest in Him, trust Him…He will carry you through.

This Wednesday, February 25, 2015 my Mom passed away at 87. I was not able to go to my home town to be there to say goodbye or be at the funeral, yet I was still sensing the cocoon affect. She knew Jesus, served Him and brought others to Jesus even in her old age in the assisted living facility. My sister listened in one day as she had come to visit her. Mom didn’t always remember what you said 3 minutes ago, but she remembered Jesus and was telling an elderly gentleman how to become a Christian.

Isaiah 46:4 Even to your old age and gray hairs I am he, I am he who will sustain you. I have made you and I will carry you; I will sustain you and I will rescue you.
This scripture is made true to me daily and I am grateful for God’s Word, God’s people and the ‘presence’ I can sense in these difficult days.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Discontented?

  1. Yes, my friend, He does sustain us. Beautiful, Melanie.

Leave a Reply

