The Ministry of Presence…

Tonight, or should I say morning, it is 5:23am, Rick and I were awake praying and talking. He had a visitor last evening who came and sat with him for a couple of hours. I had an errand to run and picked up some supper while I was out. This friend has sat with another of his friends who had a horrific bicycle accident and finally passed away. This man also has a handicapped son and ministers to him with his presence. Now he ministers to Rick and to me also by default by his presence.

The topics range all over the map of those little grey cells inside our skulls, but in the end it is ministry to us and it seems to be reciprocal. When it’s time to go, we pray together and send him on his way. We have all been ministered to by ‘the presence’.  Jesus said in Matthew 28:20 –I am with you always, even unto the end of the world.  In the Old Testament God speaks with his servant Jacob in Genesis 28:15 “Behold, I am with you and will keep you wherever you go, and will bring you back to this land; for I will not leave you until I have done what I have promised you.” 16 Then Jacob awoke from his sleep and said, “Surely the LORD is in this place, and I did not know it.”…

Those of us who know the Lord as personal Savior and Lord have this assurance from many Scriptures, that His presence goes with us wherever He leads, to protect, direct, guide and “BE WITH” us, even in the midst of ‘life circumstances’, or should I say more directly “His presence goes with us, before us, behind us, above us, around us, under and inside…He may call us to the ‘ministry of presence’ for someone in need on ‘skin on Jesus’. It is a tangible and very necessary ministry of the body of Christ. Check in with Jesus today and everyday to see if He is calling you to be the ‘presence of Christ’ in someones life today.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment