The Nature we nurture…

Romans 12:1 I beseech you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, that ye present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable unto God, which is your reasonable service. 2   And be not conformed to this world: but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind, that ye may prove what is that good, and acceptable, and perfect, will of God.

Paul writes these two short sentences, and then proceeds to write to us how we need to CONFORM to the good, acceptable, perfect, will of God.  We human beings nurture our natural man at all costs, even to our death and detriment. Definitely to the death and detriment of our testimony of life in Christ. We worry, we fret , we war against one another, we are selfish, contentious, know it all’s.  Renewing our mind with God’s Word, is what He tells us. The WORD changes how we think and changes what we nurture in our ‘natural man’ and it begins to show in our behavior, to the good of our true eternal nature .

I used to believe we became ‘solidified’ in our nature and have even written about it in the past, each day I see it happening in me and those around me. If we do not soak ourselves in the WORD OF GOD and feed our souls, the ‘spiritual self’ continually, our eternal soul will starve and turn to stone, as surely as we will die of starvation and dehydration if we don’t eat or drink to sustain our ‘natural self’.

We worry about our world, when what we need to do is recognize, as believers, that our God is still on the throne. He did not abdicate to some human leadership or mob terrorist group. God did not throw up His hands and walk off in a huff because the church is not healthy. God has always made a way for the believer. Granted sometimes it is death and ‘outta here’, but I’m with Paul on that one. “For me to live is Christ and to die is gain.” (Philippians 1:21)

While I live, let me nurture the Christ nature in my life, let Him reign and work me over through the washing of the Word, with the application of His grace, so should I die, for any reason, my gain will be more pleasing as the words ‘well done’ meet my ears. The Puritan Prayers from the ‘Valley of Vision’ have begun to be great food for the ‘conformation of my mind’ to the Word of the Lord and the nurturing of my soul.

Puritan Prayer of Openness-Expel from my mind all sinful fear and shame, so that with firmness and courage I may confess the Redeemer before men, go forth with Him hearing His reproach, be zealous with His knowledge, be filled with His wisdom, walk with His circumspection, ask counsel of Him in all things, repair to the Scriptures for His orders, stay my mind on His peace, knowing that nothing can befall me without His permission, appointment and administration.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Nature we nurture…

Leave a Reply

