Thinking hard…

Thinking is not hard work. Directing my thinking is hard work. I sat down just a few minutes ago to look out the front window and relax for a few minutes. I had finished the laundry, put clean sheets on the bed, had the cable guy here fix our TV/Phone/Internet connection, poisoned the snails who insist on eating the Peace Lilies in the back, hard boiled some eggs for a layer salad, fixed lunch, and washed the dishes from lunch and the utensils from cookie fixings. The cookies are oatmeal, cranberry, pecan with about 1/4 cup of brown instead of white sugar to make them chewier. The groceries to make those cookies were on the counter for almost two weeks and it was time, or I was going to put them in the pantry. The cookies are now cooling on the counter.

I sat down, my feet and back aching a bit, but the view out the window of my living room is the lake with a couple palm trees that have slightly waving fronds in the breeze. I saw a ‘swallowtail’ butterfly coming right at the window. They are my most favorite. Then a smaller black and yellow striped butterfly came flitting around the neighbors roof. The neighbor has a lovely flag of a hummingbird, but my first thought when I saw it was, “it would be more fun to see the real hummingbirds at Bruce and Joey’s in Memphis or Darrel and Naomi’s in north Georgia or Donald and Susie’s in North Carolina.”

It is hard, difficult, if not impossible at times to control the ‘going of the mind’. It goes on a whim. The Bible tells us in 2 Corinthians 10:5  Cast down imaginations, and every high thing that exalts itself against the knowledge of God, and bring into captivity every thought to the obedience of Christ.

Understand please, my mind didn’t seem to be going down the tubes or ‘exalting’ itself again the knowledge of God, but it was. I felt prompted in my heart to take a look at what my mind and where my mind was carrying me. Here I am, sitting! with a wonderful view! smelling freshly baked cookies! …and I was wandering off into discontent, dissatisfaction. “It would be more fun ‘IF’ I could be someplace else?” IF only God would do it my way?

I don’t thinking it’s wrong for me to want to visit by brother and his wife, or our friends for that matter. The attitude was the problem. I still would love to see them all one day and may, but being content with the day and the place and the purpose God has for me today is of greatest importance. He has a plan and I desire to follow with all my heart, soul and particularly my MIND today.  The next Scripture that came to my mind is Philippians 4:11b …for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thinking hard…

  1. Deacon Rick says:

    Time to brush up on centering prayer. 🙂

Leave a Reply

