Memorization and Homework

It is the wee small hour of my morning. 5am seems to be the time when I can best hear what God is saying to me. Last night we began our fall Parish Academy classes. The class I decided to sit in on, is called “Who do you say that I am?” Our teacher is a retired Latin teacher and had the audacity to give us ‘REAL’ homework. We have to learn by heart before next week, Colossians 1:15-20, and read a paper. In class she asked us to give her the names/titles/attributes of Jesus. She had to write real fast on the board as there were about 30 fairly healthy Christians in the crowd. We posted probably 45 in about 5 minutes.

The blessing of this kind of class is the aftermath. Not only do we learn by participation in the class itself, but the benefits of recognizing not only who Jesus is to you, but what and who is He is to those around you in fellowship with you. I woke this morning and began adding to my list while still lying half-unconscious on my bed. Singing some of the Psalms of David gave me about 15 more in a flash. Finally, I could no longer stay in bed.
The Lover of my Soul has drawn me to Himself this morning with “Who He is to Me”.

There is nothing there is no one who compares to Him, He is everything, all in all, my Savior, my strong Tower and the Prince of Peace.

I noticed as I was signing into this ‘blog’ that there is enough space left in my blogspot to write for a long time to come. I will write of Jesus and His life, in and through the witness of His love for you and me, probably to the end of the age, until He comes in His great glory to take us home. See you soon with another note about His grace, goodness and how He is working in our world today, AND in my aging brain as I memorize….

Colossians 1:15 The Son is the image of the invisible God, the firstborn over all creation. 16 For in Him all things were created: things in heaven and on earth, visible and invisible, whether thrones or powers or rulers or authorities; all things have been created through Him and for Him. 17 He is before all things, and in Him all things hold together. 18 And He is the head of the body, the church; He is the beginning and the firstborn from among the dead, so that in everything He might have the pre-eminance. 19 For God was pleased to have all His fullness dwell in Him, 20 and through Him to reconcile to Himself all things, whether things on earth or things in heaven, by making peace through His blood, shed on the cross.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

