Make me happy? versus…

There is some hub-bub on the social media over something a notable highly visible Christian has said. It makes me think of all the times I have said something entirely foolish, due to excitement or immaturity; not tempering my words with the balance of grace and knowledge I have come to be dependent on these days.

James 1:9 Know this, my beloved brothers: let every person be quick to hear, slow to speak, slow to anger;
The person who spoke is famous in the ‘religious’ arena and has great influence. What was said was more ‘new age’ than ‘Christian’, which is why it is so harmful. My first reaction was to get my ‘ire’, ‘dander’, ‘ANGER’ up and my ‘laundry in a knot’. I decided to take a nap. Falling asleep with something on my mind and praying before checking out helps to clarify what I see. I firmly believe the Lord speaks to us when we get quiet. Of course, I also believe He is speaking all the time, but we’re just too busy or noisy to listen. When all is quiet, the still small voice of the Lord allows us to hear the truth of a matter.

Yes, God wants us to have joy. He sacrificed His Son Jesus to pay the price for not only our freedom from our sin, but the gift of love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, gentleness and self-control that comes as we ‘Glorify God’.

1 Corinthians 6:20 …for you were bought with a price. So glorify God in your body.
Making ourselves happy is a full time endeavor and it will never happen. Happiness is based on our circumstances and attitude. Do not strive to be happy! You will never be satisfied. The world offers us every kind of enticement to make ourselves happy. It is an illusion.

Joy, peace and contentment come only through life in Christ. He is the provider, protector of our souls and we are eternal beings, not temporal. Happiness is a temporary and fleeting thing. Let God give you true life in Christ Jesus, joy overflowing and peace can be yours for the asking.

Deuteronomy 31:8 “The Lord himself goes before you and will be with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged.”

Hebrews 13:5 Keep your lives free from the love of money and be content with what you have, because God has said,“Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.”

Deuteronomy 31:6 “Be strong and courageous. Do not fear or be in dread of them, for it is the Lord your God who goes with you. He will not leave you or forsake you.”

Joshua 1:9 “Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be frightened, and do not be dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.”

Happiness should never be our goal as Christians. I am happy we had a good day today, BUT even if the day had gone down hill like a couple days ago when the battery died in the van and I had to spend many hours just waiting for the next installment of the day, my happiness wasn’t in trouble, because my JOY was full, and I was able to make a new friend.

John 15:10 “If you keep My commandments, you will abide in My love; just as I have kept My Father’s commandments and abide in His love. 11 “These things I have spoken to you so that My joy may be in you, and that your joy may be made full. 12“This is My commandment, that you love one another, just as I have loved you.

True love and joy is not about ourselves, it is about the deliberate action of our faith toward others, that brings me great joy and peace…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

