Marriage and Maturity

On Sunday, June 1st, Rick and I will celebrate 40 years of marriage. This evening sitting in the dark living room watching the lightning and listening to thunder we discussed Spiritual Maturity among other things.

The Bible often compares our relationship as Christians with Jesus Christ as a marriage. I counted 24 Scriptures that refer directly to that relationship. I won’t list them all here because what I see in Scripture bears out a witness in a good Christian marriage. We have found it so.  I began to write in August of 2013 and since I am accustomed to ‘Listening for His Voice’, the Lord told me ‘do what your husband tells you’.  It has paid large dividends in our relationship and Rick has never been unreasonable. Why, because he knows that I am hearing from God and if he wants to hear from God, he needs to be listening also. It works real well and I am so grateful. Once in awhile, I will get my dander up and then I remember to back down and let God do the work in me through Rick’s advice and things always work out. Paul irritates me often in his writing, but so far it works so how do you rock that boat?

Ephesians 5:22 Wives, be subject to your own husbands, as to the Lord. 23 For the husband is the head of the wife, and Christ also is the head of the assembly, being himself the savior of the body. 24 But as the assembly is subject to Christ, so let the wives also be to their own husbands in everything. 25 Husbands, love your wives, even as Christ also loved the church, and gave himself for it;

When we were young and in ‘hot’ love, everything was exciting and emotional and definitely lacked in maturity. We often found ourselves at odds trying to satisfy our own needs instead of giving of ourselves to one another. Young love is very selfish, just in case you hadn’t noticed or acknowledged. You’re always excitable in every way. By the time, you have been married say 15 years, some of that has leveled out because it just can’t be sustained at such a level of tension and desire. It also comes because you begin to really know who the other person is. If you are not a Christian and seeking God’s will for your lives together, you may have even gotten a divorce.

If we look at our relationship with Jesus, we have to learn about Him. We have to spend time with Him, listen and know what He says to us. (Bible, prayer & worship) We share our hearts with Him. The ’emotional’ high we had in the beginning of our relationship, that gave us such zeal for soul winning and learning begins to mature. We don’t stop being a witness, but we become wiser in our witness. We begin to ‘listen’ and ‘see’ what the Father is doing in and around us so we can participate in His will concerning others.  We don’t stop having the joy and completeness we find in Him, we actually deepen in a more intimate way spiritually.

Rick and I have a great wonderful relationship. He ticks me off and I tick him off because we don’t think alike about the everyday stuff. Some is not important to him and a lot is  important to me because I’m OCD (a bit). BUT, when it comes right down to the crux of the matter, we love each other deeply and find great peace in just being together. Sitting in a darkened room holding hands, talking quietly about the things of the Lord, or our day, or our thoughts. JESUS wants that kind of relationship with us, a mature and communing relationship with YOU and me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

