Are we comfortable?

Some Scripture makes me uncomfortable. The Word of God examines my heart and thought processes and I am often left with the feeling that I have disappointed the Lord because of the things I cling to in my mind. This is the Psalm we read today. I wish I could say that these were always my ways. We need His correction from time to time as a reminder that we are not of this world, just currently in it. There is a better plan! His!

Psalm 26:2 Examine me, O Lord, and prove me; try my reins and my heart. 3 For thy loving kindness is before mine eyes: and I have walked in thy truth. 4 I have not sat with vain persons, neither will I go in with dissemblers. 5 I have hated the congregation of evil doers; and will not sit with the wicked.

In Exodus we read that God had a better plan for the Israelites. They didn’t want to follow. They preferred slavery and bondage and were comfortable with it. They didn’t want to change. He brought them out of their bondage to be able to know Him better. God is always changing me, and sometimes I gripe as if I were an Israelite, but I do want to know Him better. (Exodus 19:4b I bore you on eagles’ wings and brought you to myself. Now therefore, if you will indeed obey my voice and keep my covenant, you shall be my treasured possession among all peoples, for all the earth is mine;)

Henry Blackaby challenged me in the same way today. “When God sets out to free us there will often be a price we will have to pay. Grief can be a terrible form of bondage, yet we can become comfortable with it. We can grow so comfortable with fear that we don’t know how to live without it. As destructive as our sinful habits and lifestyle might be, we may prefer living with the familiar, rather than being freed to experience the unknown. We may recognize the harmful influence of a friend but choose to reject God’s will rather than offend our friend.”

I propose that you and I work at letting God set us free, by lifting up to Him the things that bind us to this world, without an attitude or complaining that it is too much to ask. Give it up, He will comfort, He will supply and He is our salvation. There is no other friend like Jesus, as the song says. Neither is there any other name under Heaven, where by we must be saved,  as the Word of God says in Acts 4:12 NIV “Salvation is found in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given to mankind by which we must be saved.”

Comfort or Salvation….hmmmm…Eternal death or Eternal LIFE….

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

