Wisdom and Suffering..

How do these relate?  The devotional from Henry Blackaby for this day, talked about wisdom and what the Bible says about how we can tell wisdom from worldly opinion…Oswald Chambers wrote about the suffering as being a means of keeping us close to the Lord.

This morning my ‘diverticulitis’ has me nearly bent in half and the wisdom that would have saved me, totally bypassed me in my behavior and is showing itself in suffering.  If we use God given wisdom and obedience our suffering is of a different venue.  I physically did what I am not supposed to do and now I pay…how long I’m not sure, but it will pass if I behave physically.

God’s promises to us, are addressed by David’s Psalms, in oh so many places.  His poetic imagery is a bit over the top for me sometimes, but he was expressing the depths and heights of his pain and joy.  Here was a man, anointed to be King and running for his life.  He had God on his side, but he was suffering deprivation and putting up with all kinds of abuse.  Here is where the wisdom comes in…he continued in his holy pursuit of a relationship with God and with time and suffering, God brought about His promises to David.  David although a sinful man, repented and is known to this day as “THE MAN AFTER GOD’S OWN HEART.”

Psalm 18:19 He brought me out into a broad place; He rescued me, because He delighted in me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

