Lost her fight…

Someone today said they were concerned about a friend who was having a medical procedure done.  The woman having the procedure is a Christian, as is the friend who took her to the hospital. The friend was very concerned because her friend had lost her “fight”. I told her that it might be a good thing.  God sometimes is waiting for just that moment when we give up to bring us something better than we can ask or think or imagine.  This short title can have consequences in several areas, such as lost the fight, with a disease, with her husband, with her car…but I want to address the “fight” we all have with our will, in the flesh.

As Christians, God has provided us the armor to win the battle against the devil. Ephesians 6:10 Finally, my brethren, be strong in the Lord, and in the power of his might. 11 Put on the whole armor of God, that ye may be able to stand against the wiles of the devil. 12 For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places. 

Verse 12 says we don’t wrestle against flesh and blood, that means another person, but we do war against spiritual powers.

I do believe that we are at war with ourselves. This war we have with our own flesh is a tough war.  We want what we want, when we want it and how we want it.  God’s kindness is going to bring us to a “Job” or “Paul” experience if we do not submit our will to His. This is an “Opinionary”, so take it for what it is.  I am not writing Gospel here, but a revelation that encounters ‘my will’ every day!

When we give up our “FIGHT” to keep things going our way, God can begin to do a real work in us. I come to this point on a regular basis.  The point where nothing else matters except the will of the Father.  I still wrestle daily to lose the “fight” myself.  It is the battle I pray to lose regularly and completely.  It is then, that God can be glorified in and through my life. When I no longer have any desires and completely turn loose of this world, He can bring about the heart of God in and through my life.

Paul said it well, “for me to live is Christ, to die is gain”…he was speaking about physical death, but I believe he was also speaking about death to his own will, because we then gain the Kingdom, righteousness, holiness and love, peace, joy, patience, kindness, self-control, gentleness and great faith. “Dying daily”, to our own desires, to ourselves, giving up the fight, is another of Paul’s comments, which make more sense to me the longer I serve the Lord.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

