Separation anxiety…

Having a rough time getting back into a healthy holy state of mind because of too much activity and not enough Jesus, but after a day of concentration on the Word and much prayer, sense a better level of peace…and this Scripture took me to it.

Psalm 71:18 Now also when I am old and gray headed, O God, forsake me not; until I have showed Thy strength to this generation, and Thy power to every one that is to come. 19 Thy righteousness also, O God, is very high, who has done great things: O God, who is like unto Thee! 20 Thou, which has showed me great and sore troubles, shall quicken me again, and shall bring me up again from the depths of the earth. 21 Thou shall increase my greatness, and comfort me on every side. 22 I will also praise Thee with the psaltery, even Thy truth, O my God: unto Thee will I sing with the harp, O Thou Holy One of Israel. 23 My lips shall greatly rejoice when I sing unto Thee; and my soul, which thou has redeemed.

Oh wow! I was feeling “old” today and wondering out loud to my brother, what in the world is the Lord doing with me at this stage of the game? It’s time to retire, but all I’ve done is retire to a computer keyboard and the Word of the Lord, to watch Him bring into existence something that had never crossed my mind. When the Word says in Isaiah 55 that His ways are higher than mine, and His thoughts higher than mine, this never was in the picture or imagination.
My first book was dedicated to the spiritual children in our lives, since we have no physical children. Here again this Scripture is confirmation that God has a hand in all that we do and say. He is directing and we are LISTENING.
Rejoicing and singing to the Lord in praise for all that has come our way in this temporary circumstance, for 70-80 years at best, makes sense to me like never before. God wants to do this in every life in some way. He has created us to be His witnesses and more than that His friends. We were created for fellowship with Him. He wants an intimate relationship with us. Can we hear Him calling our name, giving us direction and correction, wooing us by His love?
I have felt the overwhelming sense of God’s great love many times, but at this moment with all my gray hair and aging body, I have never felt such joy and assurance in serving my Maker, my Friend, Healer and most importantly my Savior.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

