In The Quiet Hours

In the early morning when all is very still. Rick is still asleep and I can hear the freight train far off blow it’s horn.  In those waking moments, sometimes there is the residue of a dream, like tonight I lost my purse and I was aggravated at all the complications that represents, but more importantly there comes something to bring peace.

Immediately my mind and heart began to sing Psalm 5. “Give ear to my words, O Lord, consider my meditation. 2 Hearken unto the voice of my cry, my King, and my God: for unto thee will I pray. 3 My voice shalt thou hear in the morning, O Lord; in the morning will I direct my prayer unto thee, and will look up.”

If throughout the years the Word of God had not been memorized and cherished I would have no recourse from the agitation that presented itself in a dream. I could start my day in a bad mood and not even know why. In this quiet hour with no other distractions, I can turn to the Word of God and find comfort, peace and restoration of soul.

In the following verses of the same chapter, I find David’s prayer to be my comfort and joy. He is my strength and redeemer and sets all things in order for each day of my life, because in the quiet hours, I am reminded and listen to His voice.

Psalm 5:8 Lead me, O Lord, in thy righteousness because of mine enemies; make thy way straight before my face. 11 But let all those that put their trust in thee rejoice: let them ever shout for joy, because You defend them: let them also that love thy name be joyful in thee. 12 For thou, Lord, wilt bless the righteous; with favor wilt thou compass him as with a shield.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

