Residual

Residual defined….The quantity left over at the end of a process; a remainder.

Residual pain is a category of its’ own. At 3am or so I was still fighting with my right side all the way to my toes. 30+ years ago we had a car accident driving down to Wauchula on 98 south toward Bartow.  There was not much traffic, but it is a double lane highway. On the right side a vehicle was waiting to pull on to the highway to go north.  We were in a car in the passing lane with a large utility van in the right lane. As the utility truck passed the corner the waiting vehicle pulled into our car. My knee caps broke the ash tray and the glove compartment, pushing my right leg into my hip joint.  Although nothing was broken, I walked with a cane almost 3 years from bone and nerve damage.  I am grateful to God for that miracle, because Rick was not hurt at all as the car slammed my side.

I have tried an ice pack and finally gave up, because I was “LISTENING” to what God might be saying in this restless night.

Everyone has ‘residual’ pain!  We are all in ‘process’ and there is a ‘remainder’ of that process, emotionally, physically, financially and spiritually in every process of our life.  For my physical pain this night, I’ve had a couple of Advil and an ice pack, it’s a little better, but no sense trying to sleep, rest will not come until the pain subsides.

Residual pain is defined in how we continue after the fact.  If someone has been unkind to us, we can either forgive them and go on with our life in peace, OR we can retain the pain and be miserable.  If we lose our job, we can look for another, pray for another and allow God to supply our daily need, OR we can in this society go on welfare or unemployment and take the easy but less honorable way. (2 Thessalonians 3:10- that if any would not work, neither should he eat.)  If we lose someone we love, we retain the pain of loss, particularly if we or the loved who died, did not have a relationship with Jesus. (1 Thessalonians 4:13-18)

Sometimes the pain just remains, but I see it (and feel it) now, as a reminder that God has a purpose for my life. The physical pain I retain after standing and walking on concrete for some time, I regard as the need to communicate with my Maker for awhile, to see what is on His mind.  It is easy to get wrapped up in our ‘residual pain’, but Jesus wants to heal us and He wants us to turn Him in these times.  I’m okay with getting up to spend quiet time with Jesus in the middle of the night even if my pain is distracting me from sleep, it cannot distract me from turning to Him.

“Thank you Lord for this thorn, it draws me to you.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Residual

  1. I love that you use this to connect to God. The pain can be a left-over, unresolved emotion related to what happened to you. As you continue to let God be your healer, layer after layer can be exposed to be healed. Sometimes, healing takes a long time. For a reason we cannot possibly understand unless it is in the smallest of moments of trust.

  2. Candy says:

    “God led you all the way these forty years in the wilderness to humble you and test you, to know what was in your heart, whether you would keep His commandments or not.” Amen? Amen!!

Leave a Reply

