Iniquities erased!

Psalm 130:1 Out of the depths have I cried unto thee, O Lord. 2 Lord, hear my voice: let thine ears be attentive to the voice of my supplications. 3 If thou, Lord, should mark iniquities, O Lord, who shall stand? 4 But there is forgiveness with thee, that thou may be feared. 5 I wait for the Lord, my soul doth wait, and in his word do I hope. 6 My soul waits for the Lord more than they that watch for the morning:
7 … for with the Lord there is mercy, and with him is plenteous redemption.

We can find ourselves in the depths of a pit. Generally it is one we have dug for ourselves by following what is right in our own eyes, instead of ‘listening’ to the voice of the Lord for guidance and direction. Here David is crying out to the Lord from the depths of his being, begging to be heard. David knows that sin is the nature of our humanity. He also knows that God forgives. If God didn’t forgive we would all be toast. He is merciful and kind, slow to anger and plenteous in mercy. Yes there is double mercy in that sentence, I know it and need it daily, double mercy that is! I wait on the Lord and find forgiveness and restoration and redemption.

My mother used to ‘redeem’ green stamps. We would save them up and then go to the ‘redemption’ center with our books and find out what our books could be redeemed for and how much they were actually going to net us for our trouble.

God netted a whole lot of trouble in us, but none-the-less He sent Jesus to ‘redeem’ us. Jesus blood covered the cost. Who can stand before Him?
One who has been covered, redeemed and forgiven. Thank you Lord for not marking my iniquities. Thank you for covering the cost and the shame so that I can stand before you clean.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

